Nevermore – Supernatural Book #1 – A Review

Supernatural Book #1 – Nevermore by Keith R.A. DeCandido

nevermorebc

What can I say, when I become passionately obsessed with a TV show then I LOVE to look for tie in novels and recently my life has been all about Supernatural. A TV show that numerous people over the years have told me I would like but I just never seemed to get round to watching, anyway to cut a long story short I started watching it around mid-June and I’m currently half way through Season 9. Needless to say I am ADDICTED and I have no shame. I already feel part of the Supernatural Family and I love it (and breathe it) on a daily basis. But before I start snorting and getting breathless about the show, I’ll get back to my original point.

I was SO happy to see that SPN had books that go alongside it, the only danger is with books like this is the characters not being written the right way, but thankfully that wasn’t the case with this one. The Winchester Brother’s travel to New York to check out the house of a local rock star who claims his house is haunted by a woman. Whilst they’re there they also look into strange deaths that resemble something straight out of the stories of Edgar Allen Poe. The boys have their hands full, but as usual they deal with it with aplomb.

The story line involving the Poe like killings, although clever, didn’t stand out for me as much as the haunting at the rockers house. I was genuinely intrigued to discover who the woman was, plus the moments where Dean and Sam are watching the band destroy some of Dean’s most treasured songs, made me laugh as I could see his face clearly in my mind. Nevermore isn’t a bad tie in at all, with Keith giving believable voices to both of the brothers, the story line was bizarre and believable enough too.

Star Rating out of 5: 4

dands

An additional plus I loved about this book was the author’s recommended soundtrack.

Happy reading nerds!

x

 

Leave a comment